You are currently viewing Under 20 squad selected – The Namibian

Under 20 squad selected – The Namibian


Young Warriors head coach James Britz has provisionally called up 40 players for a training camp ahead of the upcoming Cosafa Under-20 Challenge Cup in Eswatini.

The squad selection was completed after the finals of the Namibian Newspaper Cup, powered by Standard Bank, at Oshakati on Sunday.

Standout player at Oshana 2022, Martin Mandume of Ohangwena, who won the player of the tournament award and top goal scorer prizes, is included in the squad.

So too is winning region Zambezi’s agile shot-stopper Becksen Sibeso, who won the goalkeeper of the tournament award.

Additional scouting was done at recent Governor’s Cup tournaments held countrywide, with the rest, like the gifted McClune twins, graduating from the Baby Gladiator’s ranks.

“I want players who are hungry to learn, players who have some ability with the ball in all

departments of the game,” Britz said in a Namibia Football Association statement on Thursday.

“I am big on development, we have carefully and deliberately selected players who want to play for Namibia, compete at high levels of international football with big and fearless hearts to win.”

The scouts believe they have assembled a formidable group which will challenge for honours in Eswatini next month.

The provisional squad is as follows:


Karere Damaseb, Tshiamiso Pieters, Nelly Rooi and Sibeso.


Gustaf Kaeka, Kavehungua Kavita, Usher Uazenga, Arnold Tjivera, Hermanus Pofadder, Ritatumisa Gertze, Rouein Tjihumba, Alex Mumbango, Mark Adams, Erastus Josef, Toromba Tuzuvirua, Neville Kasoana, Romanus Esterhuizen and Santos Sibolile.


Josef Iipumbu, Alberto Goagoseb, Lawrence Doeseb, Sakaria Samuel, Raymonzo Stern, Rewaldo Prince, Eugene Fredericks, Kalaluka Kalumbekwa, Silas Shawapala, Giovanni Gaingob, Alberto van Wyk, Romeo Amon, Xavier Mcclune, Zander Mcclune, Denzel Umati, Herman Uwuseb and Feka Mwilima.


Kosmas Petrus, Elsai Saal, Martin Mandume, Natherney Mngonga and Tarah Siwombe.


James Britz head coach), Jeremi Zimmer (assistant head coach), Efhraim Tjihonge (goalkeeper coach), Denver Murorua (biokineticist), Ivan Pieters (team manager), Melita Mathe (medic) and Ronnie Hoxobeb (kit manager).


Source link